The History of Akuku

Bookmark and Share

Last update June 30, 2020

Introdution and History

In the Book Akuku the land, it aboriginals by J. A Otaru and S, l. Joseph wrote a well elaborated origin of Akuku village, tracing it to the reign of Oba Ewuare I in the 14th century , when he lost two (2) of his children in  mysterious  circumstances . Thereafter he introduced the use of tattoos for every bini emigrant before they are permitted to leave the kingdom as a sign of easy identification as original natives.

Two (2) great hunters who were equally blood-brothers migrated from Uselu in Benin Kingdom with some of their kiths and kin Osaeni (Osei) and Ekhor (Eshar) which in the previous material were recorded as Oso and Eka.

They fled   Benin thought Obiaruko near Akwukwu in the present Oshimili North Local Government Area of Delta State of Nigeria and later Abraka in the same Delta State of Nigeria. They departed from there and migrated by Niger River through Aganebode into Idah from there the colonial Master reported that they migrated into their present location.

It was also reported that Ethar married his brother Osei’s daughter when his wife died. This action prompted the evocation of the custom which separated them into lineage. The Oseis’ lineage produced the Imim-Isoko kindred while Ethar’s linage produced Inukpeta kindred. They both have grown into six kindreds in the community;

(1) Ishimah      
(2) Iminoko  ,,
(3) Inukpeta   ,,
(4) Asobi   ,,
(5) Ave-Gboremi   ,,
(6) Oria  ,,

Akuku has nine quarters for administrative convenience and control. They are Iraburu, Okhine, Oyanshi, peteshi, Ughoyemeh, Ughiruvie, Ughegbe, Igbekutu, and New site (G.R.A) quarters.

According to Archives record - Akuku people claimed their founders left idah before the founders of Igarra , and their ancestors first settled at Oke a short way to the south of the present village, The village denied that the  Nupes attacked them, but it is probable that the villages scattered when the Nupes approach, the majority of its inhabitant  taking refuge in Somorika and Igarra. The present village was built in 1917.

The village has been administered from lkararn, Kabba, Okene, Iddo, Fugar, and Auchi respectively.


Akuku is divided into two (2) territorial quarters, Emiloko and Erninasobi, which are sub -divided into families .

Emiloko Quarters:

Isimo, Abiogbelemi, Eminalodi, and Unugbeta families


Imiasobi, and Imilobia families.

Families and quarters are still functioning administrative units

Age companies of youths between 16 and 19 years old formed every 3 years and bear names selected by themselves. When they are disbanded, their members are eligible to take one of the 16 titles, each of which can be held by 2 or more person at the same time.

Title taking involves sacrifices, entertainment of the whole village and payment of prescribed fees to previous title holders, who are called collectively Oga.

Women have no political rights but enjoy a measure of economic independence.

Women’s companies are formed every year but are purely social in character,

At a time the village Chief Ofeoshi acknowledged by all the people, but there was a dispute as to succession. One party maintaining that anyone could become village head and the other that he must be members of either the isimo, Eminalobi, Ahiegbe or Unuagbeta families


Civil debt judgments were enforced by granting permission to the creditor to size a goat the value of which must be claim by the owner from the debtor. Complainant were expected to pay hearing fees varying from, according to the amount claimed or  gravity of the offence and successful litigants were expected to make presents to the value of one-third of their claim to the judges .

Crimes were punished as followed:-

Murder: by self hanging in the market.

Arson: By burying the offender alive.

Theft: By option of fine, however this varies according to the things stolen.

Manslaughter:  By compensation of one or two slaves to the deceased family .

Adultery: By compensation of a dog, a goat, cock, hen, a snail, a tortoise and pigeon to the husband.


The “Odafe “is the traditional ruler of the community with the Chief Executive Powers . He is the chief custodian of the tradition and culture of the people who must always be consulted on cultural and traditional matters. He draws his wisdom and advice from the constituted council of chiefs and elders.

The council of chiefs (Ekpase Ijioyes) is solely selected and constituted of only traditional chiefs from quarters of Akuku who have duly performed the traditional chieftaincy rites. It is the highest ruling body in the village. They meet regularly with the Odafe to deliberate on report from Ekuoruso and the Egah for considerations .They form both the legislative and the executive cabinet with the Odafe as the presiding officer.

The Egah” is the group that controls the affair of all other younger age-grade activities . They are the law enforcement agents. They serve as intermediary between the traditional chiefs (Ijoyes) and the rest people. They serve for a term of seven years before they are elevated and qualified to become the next set of traditional chiefs (Ijoyes).

The Ekuoruso” is the lower cadre of administration in Akuku always supportive to the Egar, until they themselves attain the portion of Egah. Tge group mobilize people for community projects.

For community organization responsibility and duty normally rest on the adult male population group into 3 age-grades. With each having a leader called Okpase

(1)  Age 12-30 years – undertake tasks in the economic , social and political life of the village

(2)  Age 30-45years- provide the policing and fighting force. The community rely on this group of men for defence and attack during war time.

(3)   Age 45-50 years are the Egah age-grade


Girls are dethroned at seven (7) or eight (8) years of age and go to their husband after their first menstruation.


Agada festival:  Young female who are considered mature and ripe for marriage are initiated during an annual festival called Agada festival. It normally holds in April. It is the celebration of the virgin and all unmarried young females.

Agbor Festival:  is celebrated in the month of September annually.

Eria Festival: is the new yam festival which is celebrated in the month of November annually.


According to the book title Akuku Land and the aboriginal by Otaru John and S.I Joseph Akuku has five shrines namely Oyinebe, Uhuru, Sar-hizi, Oshima and Uravie. Each of the shrines has an appointed priest who serves and performed sacrifice on behalf of the communities. The priests are supervised by the chief priest who is normally the most senior man in the community, and he controls all the five (5) shrines through the priests. They are expected to served and respect certain customs, taboo and uphold the traditional belief in the land and that which their office required of them.

Presently Akuku is under Igarra/Alcuku clan an electoral ward two withHRH Oba EA. Saiki the Otaru of lgarra as its clan head.

Comment Box is loading comments...